Tuesday, November 15, 2005

World Summit on the Information Society- Phase II- 16-18 November 2005 : A Librarian at Every Table. No. 308.

The World Summit on the Information Society: Phase II.

Phase 2: Tunis (16-18 November 2005)

The road to Tunis entails a process of monitoring and evaluation of the progress of feasible actions laid out in the Geneva Plan and a concrete set of deliverables that must be achieved by the time the Summit meets again in Tunis in November 2005. Efforts are now being made to put the Plan of Action into motion and working groups are being set up to find solutions and reach agreements in the fields of Internet governance and financing mechanisms. These working groups will provide inputs to the second phase of WSIS in Tunis. Also, measures will be taken to bridge the digital divide and hasten the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals with the help of ICTs.

WSIS is expected to welcome some 10’000 participants from UN agencies, governments, the private sector and civil society, including:

* UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan
* Heads of state, heads of government and political leaders from more than 45 countries
* National delegations from more than 120 nations worldwide
* Top-level executives from over 200 companies including Alcatel, Ericsson, France Telecom, Google, Huawei, Infosys, Intel, KDDI, Microsoft, Nokia, NTT DoCoMo, Skype, Sun Microsystems, Telefónica, WorldSpace and others
* Senior representatives from leading ICT development organizations including Development Gateway, the Grameen Foundation, the MS Swaminathan Foundation and Telecoms Sans Frontières, along with a huge range of civil society entities
* World-class Plenary speakers including Mr Craig Barrett (Chairman, Intel Corporation), Mr J.N. Cho (CEO, SK Telecom), Mr Jean-Philippe Courtois (President, International, Microsoft), Ms Shirin Ebadi (2003 winner of the Nobel Peace Prize), Dr Robert E. Kahan (co-inventor of the Internet’s TCP/IP protocol suite), Mr J.B. Levy (CEO Vivendi Universal), Mr Didier Lombard (CEO, France Telecom), Mr Masao Nakamura (CEO, NTT DoCoMo), Professor Nicholas Negroponte (Chairman, MIT Media Lab), and Mr Serge Tchuruk (CEO, Alcatel).

No comments: